You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 29, 2008.

Tonight will be my third book signing/meet & greet. But this event will be quite different; it will be held at Barnes & Noble. I’m thrilled by the prospect of my novel being exposed to a whole new potential audience. At the same time, I look forward to meeting some strangers who have already purchased the book.
     Had my book been able to be picked up by a major publisher, a good deal of the promotion work would have been done for me. The reality is no one ever read a single word of my novel. I sent out many queries to book publishers that responded with a form letter, and I wondered if they even read my query at all. A friend who is also a writer gave me a lead on an agent who represents my genre of fiction. Again, the same treatment. I can take, and welcome, criticism of my work. But to not even have the opportunity for anyone to read one word was quite disheartening. It was like trying to break down a brick wall with a plastic fork.
     Then at a friend’s party, I met Roy Space. He told me of a new form of publishing available at lulu.com. Unlike the vanity presses of old, in which an author puts up thousands of dollars to start, this online publishing venue lets you upload your content and cover and will provide you with a proof and ISBN number for a very small cost. It sounded intriguing to me, so I went right home and checked it out. Then I Googled for reviews of the service and found out Amazon.com had one called CreateSpace.com. I weighed the advantages of both, and after hearing rumblings that Amazon might buy lulu, I went with CreateSpace.
     My experience with CreateSpace has been extremely favorable. I couldn’t believe how soon after I submitted the copy that I had a paperback copy of my first novel in my hands! It was a thrilling moment.
The downside is that I have to do all the marketing myself.
     The response, so far, to my novel has been very good from a wide ranges of ages, teens to octogenarians. As you can see on the left side of this page, the book has crossed the border into Canada and the Atlantic to Ireland and Northern Ireland. Someday, I dream it will travel into bookstores across America. Right now it cannot unless I have a distributor (another one of those plastic fork/brick wall scenarios).
     For now, your opinions and word of mouth will help carry the tale of Maeve, Andy, Brídgeen and Fergal even farther. (By the way, the sequel is chugging along nicely.)
      So, can’t wait for the big night. Hope to see some of you there from 6:30 – 8:30 p.m. at the Barnes & Noble in Vestal, NY. I have a special giveaway I think people will enjoy.

Other works

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
The Cyber Miracles

About the book

Maeve Kenny's life was going exactly as she'd planned. At 30 she was dating a soap opera star and had an exciting public relations career with an Irish-owned firm in Manhattan. Then three sudden events turned everything upside down, and Maeve found herself fleeing her Queens apartment for sanctuary back home upstate in Binghamton. As she tries to readjust to the dramatic changes in her life, Maeve says she needs a miracle to turn her life around. Who would have thought the whole world would be watching when it happens?

What readers are saying…

"Rollicking fun!" "A delightful read." "Leaves you feeling good." "Highly recommended!" "Your book would make a hell of a movie!"

By the numbers…

The Cyber Miracles readers are in:

2: continents

4: countries

16: states/districts/territories

32: places in NY

Blog Stats

  • 18,945 hits

Recent Comments

Jeri Lynn on Holiday Shopping?
Jeri Lynn on Coming soon …
thecybermiracles on Another web store adds my…
DWD in Atlanta on Another web store adds my…
thecybermiracles on Third book in the series …
August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Podcast interviews with the author

Listen to an interview on the Isabel-Rose Show on Blog Talk Radio here. Listen to an interview with the author on Bill Jaker's Off The Page show on WSKG FM Radio here.
got Miracles?